Anyone Here An Artist/good At Drawing?

Discussion in 'Open Discussion' started by Weezy, May 19, 2016.

1. Weezy

Weezy Moderator Staff Member

I need some help converting a photo into more of a stylized drawing/cartoon for a tattoo. It's a tribute to my grandfather who is ailing, I want to get it done asap. I have the photo, and I have a crappy edit I did from the photo of what I'm looking for, but I am not an artist at all, and I need to turn it into a more finished product to have ready for the tattoo artist. I don't really want to go down there and ask for their interpretation on it and then not like it and tell them that and then have them putting something permanent on me minutes later. Any help is appreciated.

2. Savory Griddles

Savory Griddles Moderator Staff Member

If you have Adobe Photoshop or Illustrator, those two programs have filters that you could apply to the image to maybe get something close to what you are looking for? Not sure if that's going to be exact enough for you, but it might work and you wouldn't need an overly talented artist.

Weezy likes this.
  3. Weezy

I've used every program/app I can to get as close to a drawing as I can, and from there I've come up with a good basic mock-up. But I need a real artist to finish it. I have the basic shape and colors I want down, but I need to turn it from a photo into something like a logo. It's a car, but I'm trying to get it close to looking like the NHRA Drag Boat logo, my grandfather is a very well known race engine builder and I have a favorite picture of an early car of his. If I have to, I will give what I have made so far to the tattoo artist, but I'm trying to see if I can really nail down the design before that point. I already spent a long time finding the perfect font for his name to go along with this little car drawing. This will be my most personal and important tattoo, that's why I'm looking for help anywhere I can.

4. sirronstuff

sirronstuff - Lakers Legend -